College Scholarships

Seventeen scholarships of $2,000 each will be awarded to eligible high school seniors through the Illinois Electric Cooperative (IEC) Memorial Scholarship Program.   

Ten scholarships will be awarded to students who are children of an Illinois electric cooperative member receiving service from the cooperative, including Rural Electric Convenience Cooperative members. 

Five scholarships are reserved for high school students enrolling full-time at a two-year Illinois community college who are the child of an Illinois electric cooperative members, employees, or directors. 

One scholarship, the Earl W. Struck Memorial Scholarship, will be awarded to a student who is the child of an Illinois electric cooperative employee or director. 

The final scholarship, found below, will be awarded to a student attending Lineworker’s school.

Candidates are judged on the basis of grade point average, college entrance exam scores, work and volunteer experience, school and civic activities, and a short essay that demonstrates their knowledge of electric cooperatives.

The 2024 scholarship application is available by clicking hereScholarship applications are due by December 31, 2023. For more information, please contact us.

Lineworker’s Scholarship

One annual scholarship of $2,000 will be awarded to help pay for costs to attend the lineworker’s school conducted by the Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives (AIEC) in conjunction with Lincoln Land College in Springfield. The LaVern and Nola McEntire Memorial Scholarship is available to relatives of cooperative employees and directors, sons and daughters of cooperative members (including those who receive electricity from Rural Electric Convenience Cooperative), and military veterans. Click here to download the official rules for the LaVern and Nola McEntire Memorial Scholarship. The 2024 scholarship application is due by April 30, 2024 and is available by clicking here.