Scholarship Programs

The Illinois Electric Cooperatives (IEC) Memorial Scholarship Program offers 15 scholarships for students qualifying as described below. Each scholarship is for $2,000, and applications are accepted from October through December for awards made the following spring.

Thomas H. Moore IEC Memorial Scholarship Program

Illinois electric cooperatives award nine academic scholarships to high school seniors through a memorial scholarship fund designed to financially assist deserving students in the “electric cooperative family.”  In addition, an tenth scholarship – to assist with costs in attending an electric lineworker school – is offered (see below).

The $2,000 college scholarships are awarded in the state. The application deadline is December 31, 2023. The electric cooperative through which a scholarship applicant applies must be a member of the Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives.

10 Scholarships are awarded to high school seniors who are the sons or daughters of an Illinois electric cooperative member who is currently receiving service from the cooperative at the time the scholarship application is submitted.

4 Scholarships are reserved for high school seniors who will be enrolling full-time at a two-year Illinois community college. They may be the sons or daughters of an Illinois electric cooperative member, employee or director.

1 Scholarship is awarded to a high school senior who is the son or daughter of an Illinois electric cooperative employee or director.

A scholarship applicant is eligible for consideration in only one of the two above categories, and is eligible to apply through only one electric cooperative. The above scholarships may be used for educational costs at any two-year or four-year accredited college or university in the United States, including vocational/technical schools. The applicant must be a high school senior.


Scholarship winners must begin undergraduate studies within a year of being notified that they have won. Scholarship winners will be expected to be “full time” students (at least 12 hours).

Scholarships are for one year and are not renewable.

Scholarships will be awarded based on grade point average, college entrance test scores, work and volunteer experience, participation in school and community activities, biographical statement and knowledge of electric cooperatives as demonstrated by a short essay.


Click here for official rules.

Click here for preparation guidelines and to apply online. Deadline is Dec. 31, 2023.


LaVern and Nola McEntire Lineworker’s Scholarship Program

1 Scholarship, the “LaVern and Nola McEntire Lineworker’s Scholarship,” was awarded for the first time in 2011.This $2,000 scholarship will help pay for costs to attend the lineworker’s school conducted by the Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives in conjunction with Lincoln Land Community College, Springfield, IL. (Deadline April 30, 2024).

Sons and daughters of co-op members; relatives of co-op employees or directors; and individuals who have served or are serving in the armed forces or National Guard are all eligible for the lineworker’s scholarship.

Download  Information, Rules and Application for the Lineworker’s Scholarship.